EBOOK

A Wedding on the Banks


€ 5,49
 
epub eBook
Sofort lieferbar (Download)
Mai 2014

Beschreibung

Beschreibung

Another bawdy, poetic, crazy quilt of a book..."-The New York Times Book Review

Amy Joy Lawler, the last of Mattagash, Maine's founding clan, just announced her engagement to Jean Claude Cloutier-an outsider! Now the typically tranquil backcountry town is buzzing with the news and everyone is gleefully anticipating the social event of the year.

As the guests roll in, Amy Joy's scandalized mother takes to bed in protest, the no-good Giffords plot to steal the wedding gifts and hubcaps, and motel owner Albert Pinkham devises new schemes to fill his cash register.

Meanwhile, on hearing the news, Amy Joy's aunt downstate plots to return to Mattagash for good against her husband's wishes, while her son carries on an affair with an Elizabeth Taylor look-alike behind the back of his Valium-addicted wife.
When this volatile assortment gathers in church on the big day, hilarious and wacky results ensue.

At once funny, insightful, and heartbreaking, A Wedding on the Banks is a perfect for fans of Olive Kitteridge (Elizabeth Strout), The Language of Flowers (Vanessa Diffenbaugh), and The Good House (Ann Leary) who will fall in love with Mattagash and its people.

More from Mattagash, Maine:
The Funeral Makers (Book 1):
Mattagash, Maine: a quiet town rocked by scandal, seduction, mayhem, blackmail, and the only recorded case of beriberi on the entire North American continent!
Wedding on the Banks (Book 2)
The Weight of Winter (Book 3):
Surviving the winter will be hard; dealing with each other is another story.
The One-Way Bridge (Book 4): Return to Mattagash-the anything but tranquil town where a mysterious dead body has just been found in the woods.

What readers are saying about A Wedding on the Banks

"a riot, so very funny and also sad."

"This book combines humor and true heartbreak in ways that few authors are capable of."

What reviewers are saying about A Wedding on the Banks

"When these folks get together, the resulting mix of zany comedy, pathos, and sense of place makes worthwhile reading."-Library Journal

 "As downright knee-slapping, laugh-out-loud a novel as I've read."-Washington Post Book Review

"A hilarious, high-spirited, it's-great-to-be-alive hoot of a novel."-Newsday

"A generous and genuine entertainment."-New Yorker

What people are saying about Cathie Pelletier

"Cathie Pelletier generates the sort of excitement that only writers at the very top of their form can provide."-Stephen King

"Nobody walks the knife-edge of hilarity and heartbreak more confidently than Cathie Pelletier."- Richard Russo, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Empire Falls

"It is Pelletier's gift to be able to coax the drama from stony ground without artifice or sentimentality."-Boston Globe
"An ambitious, fearless novelist."-The Washington Post

"Cathie does a wonderful job of capturing [her characters'] moods and loves and losses, and yearnings...Her writing is lovely and so descriptive"- Annie Philbrick, Bank Square Books, Mystic, CT

"Sharp stuff...Her sentences are powerful and unique as snowflakes."-New York Times

Portrait

Cathie Pelletier was born and raised on the banks of the St. John River, at the end of the road in Northern Maine. She is the author of 11 other novels, including The Funeral Makers (NYTBR Notable Book), The Weight of Winter (winner of the New England Book Award) and Running the Bulls (winner of the Paterson Prize for Fiction). As K. C. McKinnon, she has written two novels, both of which became television films. After years of living in Nashville, Tennessee Toronto, Canada and Eastman, Quebec, she has returned to Allagash, Maine and the family homestead where she was born. She is at work on a new novel.

Technik

Dieses eBook wird im epub-Format geliefert und ist mit einem Adobe DRM-Kopierschutz versehen. Sie können dieses eBook auf vielen gängigen Endgeräten lesen.

Sie können dieses eBook auf vielen gängigen Endgeräten lesen.

Für welche Geräte?
Sie können das eBook auf allen Lesegeräten, in Apps und in Lesesoftware öffnen, die epub und Adobe DRM unterstützen:

  • tolino Reader
    Öffnen Sie das eBook nach der automatischen Synchronisation auf dem Reader oder übertragen Sie das eBook auf Ihr tolino Gerät mit einer kostenlosen Software wie beispielsweise Adobe Digital Editions.

  • Sony Reader und andere eBook Reader
    Laden Sie das eBook direkt auf dem Reader im eBook.de-Shop herunter oder übertragen Sie das eBook mit der kostenlosen Software Sony READER FOR PC/Mac oder Adobe Digital Editions auf ein Standard-Lesegeräte mit epub- und Adobe DRM-Unterstützung.

  • Tablets und Smartphones
    Installieren Sie die eBook.de READER App für Android und iOS oder verwenden Sie eine andere Lese-App für epub-eBooks mit Adobe DRM.

  • PC und Mac
    Lesen Sie das eBook direkt nach dem Herunterladen über "Jetzt lesen" im Browser, oder mit der kostenlosen Lesesoftware Adobe Digital Editions.

Schalten Sie das eBook mit Ihrer persönlichen Adobe ID auf bis zu sechs Geräten gleichzeitig frei.

Bitte beachten Sie: Dieses eBook ist nicht auf Kindle-Geräten lesbar.

Ihr erstes eBook?
Hier erhalten Sie alle Informationen rund um die digitalen Bücher für Neueinsteiger.

EAN: 9781402294914
Untertitel: A Novel. Sprache: Englisch.
Verlag: Sourcebooks Inc
Erscheinungsdatum: Mai 2014
Seitenanzahl: 416 Seiten
Format: epub eBook
Kopierschutz: Adobe DRM
Es gibt zu diesem Artikel noch keine Bewertungen.Kundenbewertung schreiben