From Puritanism to Postmodernism: A History of American Literature

€ 18,49
Lieferbar innert 2 Wochen
Dezember 1992



From a modernist/postmodernist perspective, this title addresses questions of literary and cultural nationalism. It reveals that since 17th century, American writing has reflected the political and historical climate and helped define America's cultural and social parameters. It argues that American literature has always been essentially modern.


Part 1 The literature of British America: the puritan legacy; awakening and enlightenment. Part 2 From colonial outpost to cultural province: revolution and (in)depedence; American naissance; yea-saying and nay-saying. Part 3 Native and cosmopolitan crosscurrents - from local colour to realism and naturalism: secession and loyalty; muckrakers and early moderns. Part 4 Modernism in the American grain: outland darts and homemade worlds; the second flowering; radical reassessments; strange realities, adequate fictions.


Malcolm Bradbury was a novelist, critic, television dramatist and Emeritus Professor of American Studies at the University of East Anglia. He is author of the novels Eating People Is Wrong (1959); Stepping Westward (1965); The History Man (1975), which won the Royal Society of Literature Heinemann Prize and was adapted as a famous television series; Rates of Exchange (1983), which was shortlisted for the Booker Prize; Cuts: A Very Short Novel (1987), also televised; and Doctor Criminale (1992).His critical works include The Modern American Novel (1984; revised edition, 1992), No, Not Bloomsbury (essays, 1987), The Modern World: Ten Great Writers (1988), The Modern British Novel (1993) and Dangerous Pilgrimages (1995).He has also edited Modernism (with James McFarlane, 1976), The Penguin Book of Modern British Short Stories (1988) and The Atlas of Literature (1997). He is the author of a collection of seven stories and nine parodies, entitled Who Do You Think You Are? (1976), and of several works of humour and satire, including Why Come to Slaka? (1986), Unsent Letters (1988; revised edition, 1995) and Mensonge (1987). Many of his books are published by Penguin. In addition, he has written many television plays and the television 'novels' The Gravy Train and The Gravy Train Goes East. He has also adapted several television series, including Tom Sharpe's Porterhouse Blue, Kingsley Amis's The Green Man and Stella Gibbons's Cold Comfort Farm.Malcolm Bradbury was awarded the CBE in 1991 and died in 2000. Richard Ruland is Professor of English and Professor of Comparative Literature at Washington University in St. Louis.
EAN: 9780140144352
ISBN: 0140144358
Untertitel: Empfohlen ab 18 Jahre. Revised. Sprache: Englisch.
Erscheinungsdatum: Dezember 1992
Seitenanzahl: 480 Seiten
Format: kartoniert
Es gibt zu diesem Artikel noch keine Bewertungen.Kundenbewertung schreiben